Beechwood Golf & Country Club
Beechwood was once the scene of musket fire and fighting, June 24th, 1813 to be exact, when British forces surprised the invading American troops in the Battle of Beaverdams. The fierce engagement which lasted three hours is recorded in American history as the "Battle at the Beech Woods". The battle was fought in an area that covers from today's golf course west to the present Welland Canal. Canadian heroine Laura Secord is remembered for her famous walk from St. David’s to DeCou House to warn the British of the impending attack.
Previous to becoming a golf course in 1960, Beechwood was worked as farmland for over 100 years. The "Old Barn", which provides the unique focal point to our clubhouse, was built in 1883. Originally located where the ninth green presently sits, the barn stood over twelve feet higher before it was moved. Many artifacts associated with the history of the old farm are on display, including a wooden grain shovel, a wool counter, a corn planter and an oxen yoke amongst many others.
Our proudest possessions are the two cast bronze lights which were originally gas lamps in Queen Victoria Park in Niagara Falls, when at the turn of the century the old lamplighter make his rounds at dusk lighting each one. Each addition to the clubhouse has further added to the unique atmosphere, and the two wood burning fireplaces provide an unmatched ambiance for any social occasion. Our tradition of difference continued with the building of the island bar in the 19th hole lounge. Most of the bar is actually constructed from an old red oak tree that once stood behind the fifth green.
Beechwood Golf & Country Club offers tradition, character and challenge as it is lined with mature trees and rolling fairways. Combined with well manicured undulating greens it is a pleasure to play for all levels of skill. Four sets of tees provide ample opportunity for the shorter hitters as well as the long drivers to test their games while enjoying the scenery.